‘Santi’ brings more rains, 7 areas under signal no. 3

MTSAT ENHANCED-IR Satellite Image as of 10:32 a.m., 11 October 2013. Image courtesy of PAGASA

MANILA – Seven areas in Luzon have been placed under public storm warning signal number 3 due to typhoon “Santi,” the Philippine, Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said Friday.

PAGASA said the provinces of Aurora, Isabela, Quirino, Ifugao, Nueva Viscaya, Benguet and Nueva Ecija have been place under signal no. 3 and will experience 100 kph-185 kilometers per hour (kph) winds in 18 hours.

As of 10 a.m., the eye of the typhoon was spotted over the Philippine Sea, or 240 kilometers east of Baler, Aurora.

The typhoon gained strength, now packing maximum sustained winds of 130 kilometers per hour near the center and gusts of up to 160 kph. It is forecast to move west northwest at 15 kph.

Signal number 2 (60 to 100 kph winds in at least 24 hours) has been hoisted over the following areas:

  • La Union
  • Pangasinan
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Apayao
  • Kalinga
  • Abra
  • Mt. Province
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales
  • Bulacan
  • Pampanga
  • Northern Quezon
  • Polilio Island

Meanwhile, the following areas are now under signal number 1 (30 to 60 kph winds in at least 36 hours):
Metro Manila

  • Calayan Group of Islands
  • Babuyan Group of Islands
  • Bataan
  • Rizal
  • Cavite
  • Batangas
  • Laguna
  • Lubang Islands
  • Rest of Quezon
  • Marinduque
  • Camarines Sur
  • Camarines Norte
  • Albay
  • Catandu

Leave a Comment